Dumplin' (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
186 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Lovely film
stasiakoroleva7 December 2018
Really surprised at how much I enjoyed this film. Most Netflix movies are cheesy and predictable, but this one is truly heartwarming. The story is great and the dialogue feels natural. Dolly Partons songs are a real highlight as well, and the message is delivered organically in stead of being shoved down your throat. I would recommend this for a nice Friday film night.
126 out of 149 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
warm and perfect
amcedelstein8 December 2018
"Find out who you are and do it on purpose" - Dolly Parton

Damn, Julie Murphy. You wrote every fat girls story. I knew this going into the movie tonight, this cold December night I tucked myself into bed with a box of tissues, some pizza, and my cat. I was prepared. Ready to experience one of my favorite books on the "big screen", not to mention all the Dolly and Jennifer Aniston my heart desired. Well, Julie, I cried the entire time, mission accomplished, job well done. The movie is as bright, delicious, and strong as the book, with a little extra sparkle and zhuzh.

I hope everyone out there takes a minute to think about the fat girl inside of yourself, whatever that means, and think about fondly wishing her luck on her mission to finding out who she is on purpose.
85 out of 105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
If you only watch this for how female friendships are portrayed...
gatannahfiles8 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
... that will be plenty. The young (and older) women in this film are supportive and kind to each other. Netflix has plenty of titles where women are enemies (or frenemies), undermine each other, try to get revenge, and are generally nasty in their own selfishness to be fulfilled. It is insulting to me as a women to be portrayed as though I feel like every other female is a competitor in some zero sum game where if they succeed, I lose something. So it's nice to see a film where women are not catty and petty.

Furthermore, it's great to see a film whose star is not a skinny gal, but in which skinny gals aren't portrayed as horrible people. No one "type" is a jerk, except a couple of rando high school guys, but there are plenty of male characters who are lovely. Most, in fact.

The movie avoids so many tropes typical to all cinema, but especially these Netflix rom-coms.

1) Put-upon outcast goes crazy and does something harmful. I was truly nervous when Will walked into the alteration room and saw all of the pageant dresses. Many other offerings would have had her trash the dresses to teach her mom a lesson or something, but she was so focused on her love of her late aunt, the whole scene ended up being darling.

2) Frustrated/confused love interest takes some meantime action on the side. The guy who was interested in Will never wavered.

3) Speaking of #2, though, the love interest angle wasn't even the most important one. The story is based most prominently on the relationship of Will to her late aunt, and stemming from that, her best girlfriend. And Will's fragmented relationship with her mother. And then the friendships of other high school girls who make up the pool of (eventual) pageant contestants.

I watched several Netflix original movies during TV hiatus this summer, and many were downright alarming. I wanted to like "Kissing Booth," but in the end, it was a story about two brothers who felt inappropriate possession of a common girlfriend. "Sierra Burgess is a Loser" and "F the Prom" both had characters who ended up doing horribly mean things, which we are supposed to nod and understand because they felt rejected. I didn't get past the first 30 minutes of "When First We Met" or Groundhog Day II or whatever.

I'm just saying this movie is a cut above most of the Netflix originals, and doesn't have an overarching problematic theme. Definitely feel-good, and you can genuinely like most of the characters.
40 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It you want warm feel good vibes this is perfect
senseofsight189 December 2018
Full disclosure, I have not read the book so I saw the movie with virgin eyes and zero expectations. If you're looking for a deep, insightful comedy drama with a bunch of existential messages this is not the movie for you. If you're looking for warm and fuzzy feelings mixed with some sass and charm I recommend this movie. My belly didn't ache from laughing, but my mouth did hurt from smiling so much. If you watch enough movies and TV they all become predictable, but that doesn't have to take away from your enjoyment or the message of self love that this movie leans on. So found a comfy spot on the couch, grab some tea, and let the positive vibes flow.
50 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie, great message!
mike-684157 December 2018
This movie really conveyed a positive message. Love yourself for who u are. The acting was great and it was done in a way that was not preachy! I think any of us with self esteem issues should see it.
48 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Definitely worth.
mikipopi-059148 December 2018
I didn't really expect much when I turned on this movie on Netflix tonight, but I just feel really positive after watching it. It shows that you don't have to be like the people expect you to be. I was kinda worried that it will be just a stupid comedy (Aniston), but even she did a great job in this movie. Oh, and the guy from Lost is a drag queen. Just perfect. Really worth your time.
32 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Whatever Haters
tbyrd-500889 December 2018
Is the movie an Oscar contender? No, but who cares. The movie has a great message and it's fun. I enjoyed the movie from beginning to end. All you naysayers and haters, get some joy in your life and be entertained without tearing down. It's a movie for teens to learn the value of understanding who you are and living your best you. Something us 40 somethings need to be remind of too!
33 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good, but not like the book
ramsayreader7 December 2018
The movie is a good, heartlifting movie with good music and enjoyable characters. Unfortunately it leaves out a lot of major characters and a lot of the book plot. If you haven't read the book you will like it even more, irregardless it is worth the watch.
35 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Touching, Sweet, Heartwarming - I just feel good.
SamiCakes8 December 2018
What a beautiful movie. In a nutshell - I laughed, I cried, I aww'd (a lot lol), and this was exactly what the doctor ordered. I really, thoroughly enjoyed this movie and I think anyone who appreciates a well-rounded, well-acted, heartwarming and bottomline human story, will enjoy this. Furthermore, Danielle Macdonald (the actress who plays "Dumplin'), was absolutely fantastic in this, as well as Jennifer Aniston who I think has really come into her own and found her comfort zone when it comes to acting - she seems to just easily play "right," if that makes sense. And lastly, the music throughout was such a delight - Dolly Parton is an amazing talent and this movie makes you appreciate that and her, so much more. Just wonderful.
30 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Feel Good Movie of the Year
zack_gideon8 December 2018
Not a Dolly Parton fan and wasn't familiar with the book, but this movie is just happy and uplifting. In today's negative news cycle of garbage, something like this is a ray of hope. This film spits in the face of stereotypes and hatred. It's all about LOVE. Thanks Netflix!
24 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie
maluokram8 December 2018
This movie is really inspiring. It will give you a hope. Jennifer Aniston is amazing the whole cast is amazing. This movie deserves everything.
21 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not quite what I hoped for.
TalulaGrey8 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I thought that I'd be okay with Danielle Macdonald playing a high-schooler named Willowdean, but my god she's 27 and looks to be 35. There is conflict in this film but it's all surface and we never get deeper into it. Jennifer Aniston plays the mom and she's good in her role. We don't get to see the mother-daughter conflict from both sides. Willowdean keeps telling us that her mom doesn't like/love her because she didn't turn out the way her mom wanted but, that is not what we see.

I did enjoy the drag queens and the Dolly Parton. I especially liked Maddie Baillio who plays Millie Michalchuk; she was funny, sweet, and charming.

Overall, this is a solid 5 out of 10.
39 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Well meaning but poorly done
icymi-3790620 December 2018
I like Dolly Parton music, I liked Muriel's Wedding (Ugly Duckling story) I liked Priscilla, Queen of the Desert (Drag Queen story) I like Jennifer Aniston. I don't like this film. I don't think they made the main character likeable enough, her chubby friend Millicent was way more charismatic. It's one thing if you make the lead big, but then you need to write her in a more charming, sympathetic way if you have a young handsome guy throwing himself at her. She was just boring and depressing, and it made little sense why Bo at the diner would go out of his way to pursue her. Jennifer Aniston was more likeable and she was the villain. The actors were fine, but the script just wasn't good enough. It contained all of the above listed elements, but they weren't brought together in a believable, coherent manner.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I loved this!!!!
teresa_cass8 December 2018
Loved every second of this surprisingly warm and funny movie with a BIG message. I thought it would be good with its Dolly Parton songs and music but it was even better than that.
18 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Simply Beautiful
iffyrafiq9 December 2018
I really wasn't sure if this was going to be a comedy or just serious film, but I truly loved the story from start to finish. The way the characters were portrayed was so beautiful and from a fat persons viewpoint it made me cry, as people do not yet realise beauty is not skin deep its what's within the heart. For a world obsessed with vanity this film truly stands out and in many a moment it makes you believe that that things can be different. Superb film!!
17 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Misses the mark
singe5949 December 2018
Generic and every "deep" moment seems so superficial and unearned.
33 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Disappointed
bef19917 December 2018
There was such hype about this movie and I love both Jennifer Aniston and Dolly Parton but I was so let down. The dialogue was very bland. I expected the story to be predictable but was hoping the actor's lines would inject life into it but sadly it didn't. Frankly the best part of the movie was Dolly Parton's music and little else.
35 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Predictable and cardboard acting
wheelers-88 December 2018
I had high hopes that this movie would offer something different but it was formulaic and predictable. I lost interest halfway through and started playing games on my iPad. Yawn.
42 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
FLAT
mk_k6-326-6266219 December 2018
The acting in this film is very flat. The lead actress does not have any of the charm to carry this picture and her lines are often underplayed - even her singing to Dolly Parton scenes seem languid instead of joyous. Jennifer Aniston does her best in a role against type and Dolly Parton's music is always a delight but ultimately both the director and writer, and especially their choice of the lead actress fails miserably. Bad.
24 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
So many things not working here...
ian_watts21 December 2018
A very lame and mediocre attempt at something that had real potential. Some of the terrible messages include:

  • Support means telling people they don't need to change at all in any way.


  • Your parents should be defied because you definitely know better.


  • People should have to accept you for who you are. No matter what that means, or how little you know about life and your place in the world.


But the worst part of this movie has to be the characters. A product of the cringe-worthy and predictable writing. All lame caricatures of annoyingly familiar and shallow stereotypes.

The missed opportunity is that this film could have had a great message, such as: all people are layered and different despite their surface appearance. And that unique character is developed by going through changes in life, not avoiding them.

3 out of 10 bananas.
15 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Heartwarming but unoriginal
thweattr8 December 2018
It's hard to dislike the movie with the message they're delivering. However, it felt like a worse Hairspray. You can't miss the message in this movie as the writers stuffed it down your throat as much as they possible could however they weren't creative in their delivery and had the actors force it into dialogue in a played out way. But like I said it's heartwarming nonetheless in your typical feel good predictable kind of way.
12 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Dolly connection - very little. Subpar Dramedy
wfairfan8 December 2018
Big fan of Ms Parton and Ms Aniston. Their pre-release interviews were far more entertaining than this mediocre film. It's sort of like a southern style ABC After School special. Minus the specialness.
28 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The worst movie I've seen in awhile
dawnlscherer7 December 2018
Most Netflix movies are really mediocre, but this one is so bad it is making me a little angry. I've been shouting at the tv like a crazy person and I'm on my 26th eye roll. Dumplin' is so forced and artificially sentimental. It attempts to be heartwarming and profound, but just keeps falling flat on its stupid face. I do not understand why Jennifer Aniston would have taken this role. I may write her next.
55 out of 136 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Super Cute
wooferbearatl8 December 2018
Oh my goodness! What a great little feel good movie. You can't possibly walk away from it without feeling good, smiling, cheering and laughing.
13 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Garbage again from Netflix
petera008 December 2018
I really thought this movie was gonna be funny but all it is is another Netflix attempt at showing how bullying is bad and it's ok to be a victim.... I'm so tired of these I'm this way and I'm special type movies that Netflix continues to release.... I'd hate to say it but please bring back the stupid bro party comedy movies.... Even if you put a girl in it and she's happy and not a loveable loser.
35 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed